craftleft.gif (3002 bytes)QuickTable
Home | API | Tutorial | Download | Support | Contact topblack.gif (108 bytes)


QuickTable User Cp  |  Register  |  Members  |  Search  |  Help
    |- QuickTable Discussion Forums > General QuickTable Support/Help Post New Topic   Post A Reply
Editing Cells printer friendly version
next newest post | next oldest post
Author Messages
Vishal
Private First Class

Gender: Male
Location: Williamstown, MA
Registered: Jul 2004
Status: Offline
Posts: 12

Click here to see the profile for Vishal Send email to Vishal Send private message to Vishal Find more posts by Vishal Edit or delete this message Reply w/Quote
Posted Thursday, July 22, 2004 @ 07:43:03    ICQ  YIM

I have 2 questions about editing cells:

1) While editing the cell quicktable just appends to existing data. That is, suppose you have "123" in a cell. Now the user types "456", the cell value will become "123456". How can I get quicktable to replace the old values without pressing 3 backspaces each time? That is, if the cell has "123", and the user types "456", I want the cell value to become just "456" (this is what happens in MS Access and MS Excel).

2) I have used table.getColumn(num).setReadOnly(true) to set some of the column as non-editable. But somehow it is not working as the users are still able to delete and edit values on this column (even though these values never get written to the underlying database but it still messes up the current display). Is there a fix?

Admin
Board Owner

Gender: Unspecified
Location:
Registered: Jul 2003
Status: Offline
Posts: 9

Click here to see the profile for Admin Send email to Admin Send private message to Admin Find more posts by Admin Edit or delete this message Reply w/Quote
Posted Thursday, July 22, 2004 @ 21:30:26  

1) set dbTable.enableTextOverwriteOnCellEdit=true to replace the old values.

2) Are you by any chance calling dbTable.setEditable(true) in your code? This will affect the columns setReadOnly() method.

If you want to make some columns
editable and others non editable, then you have to call setEditable(true) first and then set
the column which are non editable as setReadonly(true). By default quicktable is started
with setEditable(true)

Please refer to API of dbtable.setEditable() for more info.

Post New Topic   Post A Reply Jump to:
Contact Us | QuickTable - A Java DBGrid | Privacy Policy All times are GMT -5 Hours.
Welcome to QuickTable Forums, Guest!  
Login
Username :
Password :
In order to fully utilize the abilities of this board, you are required to register as a member. Registration is free, and allows you to do lots of things including turning on or off certain features of this board. Register now!
Powered by CuteCast v2.0 BETA 2
Copyright © 2001-2003 ArtsCore Studios